The total area of Chkhorotsku municipality is 2207 ha, with about 1715 households and 6020 inhabitants. According to archaeological excavations, the record of human ancestors goes back to ancient times, starting from the Stone Age and comprising periods aftermath. The name ‘Chkhorotsku’ is originally derived from Megrelian Chkhoros-Tsku that meant ‘Nine sources” and officially got mentioned in the newspaper "Tsnobis Purtseli" in 1859-1860.
The settlement consists of Garakha, which is divided into two parts: upper and lower Garakha. Its etymology is not exactly established. According to the locals, ‘Garakha-Garamkha’ indicated a stony plateau.
The municipality has main facilities for various purposes: three public schools, a music school, two newly built kindergartens, Historical Museum, and Central Park.
A century-old park has been main visiting place of Chkhorotsku for years. Here you will find Lapan-a maple plant and 10 double-leafed Gringko trees included in the Red Book. The grave and bust of Besarion Keburia-the first pilot of Georgia is located inside. The monument honoring memory of victims fallen on April 9 (authored by Demur Antia) also stands in the park.
Two-storey Soviet-era building of Historical Museum (1978) stands in the city center, housing more than 22 thousand exhibits. It should be noted that all items on display are made by the residents of Chkhorotsku from local raw materials: the first iron smelting machine, a tobacco cutting machine which was actively used in Abkhazia and Samegrelo, a jewelry-making machine, the first silk weaving machine in Western Georgia founded by local resident Basa Sichinava. In 1860, the newspaper Iveria even wrote that “silk made in Chkhorotsku was exported to Marseilles and Lyon".
According to the employee of the museum: “Historians suggest that in ancient times our ancestors living in this area used to mine stones in the caves and melted iron from it. A stone is stored here, 58% of which contains iron. Such a stone is mostly found in Zisnakhne cave. Using these stone tools people made high-quality, exquisite decorations. We keep samples of bronze, agate, gisher, stones, and glass jewelry, that even modern women would wear with pleasure".
The museum also keeps beautiful ornaments of the 11th-century architectural monument - Otsindale Church.
Agriculture is well-developed in the region. Minerals, iron, limestone, dolomite, semi-precious stones and andesite-basalt were mined here. Beekeeping is especially popular activity among citizens. The long-trunk bee of Mukhuri village is a three-times Gold medal winner at the World Apiarist Congress. Compared with other species of bees, Mukhuri bees make more honey. Mineral water Lugela’s springs are spread at the distance of 4 km from Mukhuri, in the resort of the same name. Unique therapeutic qualities of Lugela springs are widely acclaimed not only in Georgia but throughout the world. This healing chloride-calcium water effectively treats diseases of the skeletal system and joints, allergies, stomatitis, jade, bleeding, and so on.
Mineral water "Lugela" began to be bottled for the pharmacy chain in 1946. Lugela toothpaste is prepared from it, and is also regularly used in cosmetology.
Visitors usually consider making a quick stop in this town before heading to the neighboring cities: Martvili to the East, Zugdidi to the Southwest, Mestia to the North. The region is distinguished for humid subtropical climate, pristine nature, striking sceneries and interesting cultural monuments. Throughout the area you will discover chestnut, beech and boxwood forests, majestic waterfalls and lakes, caverns, also remarkable historical sights.
Numerous ancient temples and fortresses created by the ancestors withstood the test of time and are still preserved in the form of ruins. Some of them have been studied by scientists, but many monuments are left unattended or not fully explored. To be mentioned: Garahi fortress (Najagu) defensive structure (16-17th c), Najikhari Fortress (Middle ages), Otsindale St. George Church (11th century), St. George's Church of Kveda Chkhorotsku, etc.
In the center of the town stands the symbolic Statue of "Good vs Evil" (by the architect Demur Eloshvili), depicting St George slaying the dragon.